Google Ads Tutorial - How to Make Profitable Google Search Ads - Download Free Ebook by Digipreneur3 - HTML preview

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How To Read Your Metrics

The fol owing is an image of a running campaign workspace and data. We can see the performance of the campaign based on certain measures. We wil discuss the data that is important to find out how effective the ads we run are.

At the top of the workspace there is a description of what is displayed on the middle page. You can filter what you want to see here.

On the left, as you already know, are tabs that contain elements within Accounts and Campaigns. You can click on the tabs to the left of this to display what data can be learned on the middle page. In the image above, the Campaign tab is displayed.

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You can see how your campaign is performing by a specific time by changing the date at the top of the middle page.

Underneath there is a graph that shows the performance of the Campaign. You can change the type of graph displayed and hide the graph by clicking the arrow button to the bottom right of it.

a. What to See in your Metric

What metrics to look at depends on what campaign you're creating.

Search Ads Campaign metrics are certainly different from Display Ads and Video Ads metrics. We wil focus on looking at the Search Ads Campaign metrics that we have created.

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● Campaign Name

The Campaign Name that is in your Google Ads account. You can monitor its performance in the Campaign Tab, pause ineffective campaigns, delete campaigns, and make other changes.

● Status

Know which Campaigns are active, paused, not el igible, etc.

● Bidding Strategy

The type of bidding used in the Campaign. You can click and view the report.

● Budget

Amount of budget spent each day. You can edit your budget here.

Remember, you wil not be charged more than your monthly budget.

● Impression

An impression is counted each time your ad is served. Impressions help you understand how often your ad is being seen.

● Clicks

Cost is the sum of your spend during this period.

● CTR

Clickthrough rate (CTR) measures how often people click your ad after it's shown to them, which can help you understand the effectiveness of your ad.

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CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks your ad receives by the number of times your ad is shown. If you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, then your CTR is 0.5%.

● Phone Cal s

The number of phone cal s you get from ads.

● Avg. CPC

Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC) is the amount you've paid for your ad divided by its total clicks. If your ad receives 2 clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.

● Cost

Cost is the sum of your spend during this period.

● Conversion

"Conversions" shows the number of conversions you received after ad interactions (such as text ad clicks or video ad views) from al actions you've included in this column.

The “Include in ‘Conversions’” setting for each action determines if the action's conversions are included here.

Smart Bidding optimizes the conversions in this column. This is usual y useful for E-commerce stores.

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● Cost/Conv

Cost per conversion (“Cost/conv.”) shows the average cost of a conversion. It’s your cost divided by your conversions.

If you track multiple conversion actions, your overal cost per conversion may be lower than the cost for each conversion action.

The cost in this metric only includes ad interactions that could lead to conversions.

● Impr. (Top) %

Search top impression rate is the percent of your impressions that are shown anywhere above the organic search results. Use this metric to see whether changes in performance are due to changes in your ads' location. This metric does not include data from Search Partners.

● Impr. (Abs. Top) %

Search absolute top impression rate is the percent of your impressions that are shown as the very first ad above the organic search results. Use this metric to see whether changes in performance are due to changes in your ads' location. This metric also does not include data from Search Partners.

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● Optimization Score

Your optimization score is an estimate from Google Ads of how wel your Google Ads account is set to perform.

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These are the most basic metrics to know. You can learn more about it in your Google Ads account.

If you look at the picture above, it doesn't contain al the Basic Metrics that we just discussed. How do I show it up? Check out the explanation below.

b. How to Edit Your Metric Table

To add the metric data needed to measure Campaign, Adgroup, and Ads performance, you can click the " Columns" button above the table.

Next you wil see the metrics that can be selected as in the image below. Click the metric you want to display, and click and drag the element to change the appearance of your Column Head on the right. You can also save this Customization with a new name at the very bottom.

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Hover over each metric name to clearly see what its purpose is. You can learn about other metrics for display and video ads.

Keep in mind that Campaigns, Group Ads and Ads have slightly different metrics. You can view and change them via the tabs on the left. Click the Campaign tab to view Campaign data, click Ads & Extensions to view Adgroup data, etc.

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How To Maximize Your Ads Performance a. Add Another Ads

Create several different ads in one Adgroup. Google Ads can maximize ad performance by choosing the ad that has the best performance.

You can copy a ready-made ad. Go to the Adgroups tab, select the Adgroup you want to add ads to. Check one of the existing ads, look for the Copy tab at the top, and Paste it into the same group after making some changes.

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